Chef de Mission Todd Nicholson among Order of Ottawa inductees


OTTAWA – Todd Nicholson, Canada’s Chef de Mission for PyeongChang 2018, is among 17 residents who will be inducted into the Order of Ottawa this year.

The ceremony will take place at City Hall on November 16.

Joining Nicholson on the honour roll are Steve Barkhouse, Thomas d’Aquino, C, Jane Dobell, Édith Dumont, Safaa Fouda, Claude Gingras, Lawson A.W. Hunter, Guy Laflamme, Dr. Bernard Leduc, Cyril Leeder, Drs Lucy and Rod Rabb, Jozef Straus, William Tupper and Sheila Whyte.

“The 2017 inductees join an illustrious group of residents who have been recognized and celebrated for having significantly contributioned to the City through their professional accomplishments. In addition to making positive change in the city, Order of Ottawa recipients inspire others to do the same,” said Ottawa Mayor Jim Watson.

A three-time Paralympic medalist winning gold in 2006, silver in 1998 and bronze in 1994, Nicholson represented Canada on the national and international stages as a member of Canada’s national sledge team. He won eight medals at the world sledge hockey championships.

From 2013 until April 2017, he served as Chairman for the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Athletes’ Council. He has been involved planning and administering the Games from 2012 through 2018. Nicholson was named Team Canada’s Chef de Mission for the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games. He was inducted to the Ottawa Sports Hall of Fame in 2014. Mr. Nicholson and his wife now devote their free time and energy to building The Abilities Centre Ottawa, a centre that aims to create a fully inclusive recretional facility for people of all abilities.

The Order of Ottawa recognizes exceptional residents who have made a significant contribution in a professional capacity in many areas of city life, including arts and culture, business, community service, education, public service, labour, communications and media, science, medicine, sports and entertainment, or other fields of endeavour that benefit the residents of Ottawa.

This prestigious civic award was established in 2012 by Mayor Watson and members of City Council. Recipients of the Order of Ottawa are chosen by a Selection Committee comprised of the Mayor, City Clerk and Solicitor, Chief of Police, Chief of Protocol, City Archivist, and the Chief Executive Officer of Library Services.

For more information regarding the Order of Ottawa and the full biographies of the recipients on the Order of Ottawa section on the Awards and Recognition page on